Auckland creatives honoured in New York

Two young Aucklanders are among the global winners of the Art Directors Club Young Guns 9 competition for creatives aged 30 and under. There were 50 winners from 14 countries.

Clem Devine is a designer at Alt Group Auckland, and Curtis Baigent is a freelance creative (ex Oktobor and Assembly, and now “wandering the streets of France”). Both have websites – and

ADC Young Guns is the only international, cross-disciplinary, portfolio-based awards competition that identifies today's vanguard of young creative professionals age 30 or younger. Judged on a body of both professional and personal work by a jury of past Young Guns winners, this year’s class represents an impressive global roster of young talent in the fields of graphic design, illustration, advertising and art direction, photography, environmental design, film, animation & video, interactive design, sound design, product design and typography.

Entries for the Young Guns 9 competition were received from 43 countries. The complete ADC Young Guns 9 winner profiles can be seen at

ADC Young Guns 9 winners receive a unique version of the ADC Young Guns Cube, designed in a limited edition exclusively for this year's incoming class. They will have their work featured in an exhibition at the ADC Gallery in New York, published in the ADC Young Guns 9 Annual, and added to the ADC permanent online collection.

Along with receiving a complimentary one-year ADC membership, they also get permanent membership in ADC Young Guns Network, the chance to be featured in Young Gun events on an assortment of career-boosting opportunities from ADC Young Guns sponsors including Corbis, Behance and Ace Hotel.

Past ADC Young Guns include then-rising stars who went on to become leaders in their chosen fields, such as ADC board member Rei Inamoto (interactive), Stefan Sagmeister and James Victore (graphic design), Deanne Cheuk (illustration), Jeremy Floto and Cassandra Warner (aka floto+warner, photography), Alexander Gelman (advertising), Mike Mills (film and video), Alex Trochut (typography), Todd St. John (animation) and others.

To encourage a strong sense of community, a panel of past ADC Young Guns serves as the jury for each year’s competition.

You can skip to the end and leave a response. Pinging is currently not allowed.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Powered by WordPress | T-Mobile Phones for Sale at | Thanks to Free Phones at, Free MMORPG Games and Fat burning furnace review

Switch to our mobile site